top of page

What Jesus Thinks of the LGBTQ Community (Part 1)

How Does Jesus Feel?

I told you guys not too long ago that I went on an Ignation style retreat with an amazing group of girls back in October. I mentioned the Heart Speaks to Heart reflection that I did on that retreat, but there was another reflection that I found very powerful, and I wanted to share it with you.

Along with that reflection, I've been seeing a lot of debate on social media about what Christ thinks about the LGBTQ community. I'm sure you've all heart of that church group that goes around to pride events sporting the "God Hates Fags" signs. Then you have the people taking part in the pride parades that say God made them gay, and that He would support their actions and so on.

I've had some people ask what I think. And on this retreat, during one of my times of meditation, I think that our Lord made it very clear to me just what He thinks about the LGBTQ community.

I want to think about His people, all of His people, the way that He does.

 

I remember being in the middle of a busy street. Beyond the space where I was, there were people as far as my eyes could see, stretched out in every direction.

They were all screaming and shouting, marching down the streets behind large floats and small groups carrying signs and banners.

Looking around after a while, I began to see numerous rainbow colored flags. People where wearing this same symbol on their shirts, painted on their faces, and near by buildings and businesses had them sported from there balconies.

I realized that I was in the middle of a gay pride parade.

The object of this meditation and reflection was to place ourselves in a place of need. Many of the girls I was on retreat with did the same type of service project, and since I was new to the group, I wasn't sure what the atmosphere was like, so I couldn't place myself there.

I simply allowed God to place me where he wanted me, and there I was.

He wanted me here. He wanted to tell me something.

In that small space where I was, standing alone in the middle of the street, there was a man with His back to me. When I caught sight of Him, all the noise of the parade surrounding me faded into silence. I knew exactly who He was before He turned to face me, but the piercing effect of His stare still threatened to bring me to my knees.

When His eyes met mine, they were soft and gentle, but there was pain seeping through, pain that I could never begin to express in words.

Tears streamed down his bearded cheeks, His pierced hands gripped at His Sacred Heart through His tattered clothes.

I called out to Him, calling Him by name, saying, "Jesus, why all of this? Why here?"

His voice, deep, powerful, and overwhelmingly beautiful, tore through the silence that had been surrounding me; He spoke directly to me, speaking truth that I don't think I had fully realized until then.

"I love them, too."

The words seemed to rattle my bones within me, seemed to seep so forcefully into my very being, and take me over.

I looked around all of the faces of the people there, and the reality of Christ's words struck me over and over as I saw each person.

Under that rainbow flag, under all that it promises and all that it professes, lies those who love it, those who since the beginning, were loved by the very Man that it rejects.

The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus remains open for them, desiring, thirsting, to love them.

Unprotected, pierced, and overcome by longing, the Heart of the Son of Man calls out to them, saying into the darkness surrounding them, "I love you."

I stared into the eyes of Jesus, still full of tears, and I asked Him, "What can I do? What can I do to console You?"

Jesus seemed to smile, even through all of the pain. He drew near to me, and He kissed my head and held me close to Him.

I felt His Sacred Heart beating, all the while my own seemed to stop.

He said, "Love me. Then, love them as I love them."

It was then that the bell rang, calling me out of my time of mediation.

 

When Jesus told us to love our neighbor, He meant every single one of our neighbors, including those who may not love us in return.

Jesus is overcome with love for every single person who associates themselves with the LGBTQ community. Every single one of them. And He calls us to do the same.

bottom of page