top of page

Hope When It Seems Like There Can't Be Any For A Person With SSA

Lengthy title, I know, but here we are... 😂

Just want to say, we as the IMHOH blogging team really appreciate all of the support we have gotten with this project/ministry. It has been a dream of ours to bring light and understanding not only to people with this cross, but people who have a misconception of this cross. 

Although our culture has tried to convince us that we need to freely indulge in our desires in order to be happy, we as Catholics are called to a higher standard. So where does that leave us but confused and sometimes hurt? 

I know what you're thinking, here's the part where she starts drilling in teachings from the catechism or specific passages from the Bible that teach us about homosexuality. Well, I'm not going to do that. I personally think it's little unnecessary for you to hear it again. I'm under the impression that if you're on this site reading this you're looking for some relief in knowing that you're not the only one who is a little confused and maybe somewhat hurt. 

As I have been writing and "social media-ing" for this blog in the past couple of weeks, I've had a lot of time to intentionally reflect on my struggle taking up this cross and what gives me hope when I feel too weak pick it back up again. 

There are a few things that give me hope.

1. The people who love me even after I've told them about my SSA. The people who treat me the same as they would have if I had never told them. No matter how scary it is to tell someone you are close with, it usually pays off in the end. The burden somehow becomes lighter which is AMAZING for self confidence and overall peace. 

2. The people who are bold enough to get up and talk openly about their struggle with SSA, and what they did to pursue the Lord through all the messy emotions. Those people should be hope to all of us. This really isn't any easy topic for most Catholics. 

3. The people who are struggling along side me and willing to admit it. I know I've said it before, but our job is to get others to Heaven and if that means calling each other onto holiness especially with SSA, I'm all for it!

4. Recently, a very wise woman told me that Jesus sometimes gives us "vacays" so to speak from our crosses. Those are the BEST. The Lord sees you where you are, and he knows when you need a break. Maybe your break doesn't look the same as mine, but it still helps tremendously. Praise God for that!

5. The Catholic church gives me hope. I think that SSA among Catholics is being recognized a little more which is so beautiful. Our church is here with us through thick and thin. It is our "shoulder to cry on" if you will, and we need to take full advantage of it. 

I understand that sometimes it seems a little unfair that we can't act on our desires and let's be honest, it can be so hard to learn self control, but the case is the same for any other sin. When I look at it that way, it makes this SSA cross seem tiny!

Seriously, you name it, and I can guarantee someone struggles to have mastery over it. But that's ok! The Lord knows we're human and that we make mistakes. All we have to do is get back up when we fall down. And the great news is is that we are never getting up unaided, the Lord is there through it all. 

I'll leave you with this quote by Oscar Wilde that gives me hope no matter what cross I'm carrying at the moment:

"Every saint has a past, and every sinner has a future".

bottom of page